Celebrating Inspirational Women: Jeannie Zimmerman

This journey of working with women in Peru has lead me into so many new relationships and rekindled old ones. Dr. Rhea Zimmerman, now Komarek, was someone I met years ago when she was still in high school. I had not seen her in well over 15 years, but was reunited when we found out, through Facebook, we held a mutual love for the people of Peru. Rhea has just completed a movie titled, Love Bomb. We will be featuring more about it later, but for now, I could not be more excited she sent this wonderful article about her mom, Jeannie.

Terisa Co-founder/Owner @Our Hands For Hope

” The heart of the relationship, love and support.”

By: Dr Rhea Zimmerman Komarek (daughter of Jeannie)

celebrating inspirational women our hands for hope jeannie zimmerman mother wife cancer survivor strenght

Photo Credit: Weddings by Scott & Dana

This photograph of my mom was taken last fall as she watched me walk down the aisle. The look of love on her face reveals the heart of the relationship of love and support I have received from her for as long as I can remember.

About one week before our engagement my mom was diagnosed with metastatic cancer, the breast cancer from five years prior had spread. Still, there she was, sitting with me, mid-chemotherapy, as I tried on my first wedding dress.

Last year this time as we drove to spend mothers day together she was facing all brain radiation. We did not know what was going to happen as we had heart to heart conversations about life, death, and choosing life again.

She has shown me courage and immense fortitude. She has shown me what it means to be a mom. The love, heartbreak, worry, joy, all of it. I am grateful for each new memory we get to share, so precious, and feel utterly blessed by her presence in my life. I’ll be treasuring this mothers day with her!

Leave a Reply

