Celebrating Inspirational Women: Women In Art

By: Terisa Brooks-Huddleston, Owner/Founder @ Our Hands For Hope

As we move into this month of Celebrating Inspirational Women, I sat down today to write a piece about women artists, but found myself instead intrigued by “Women IN Art”.

art-faces of women

It struck me that inspirational women can emerge from art whether painted by a man or woman.

Gustav-Klimt-paintings-1

One of my favorite artists is Gustav Klimt. I have always been intrigued by his Art Nouveau style, (elaborate mosaic patterns and costumes that have glimmers of gold), but more importantly the women he portrays always evoke a strong emotional response in me.

Gustav-Klimt-paintings-4

The faces of the women in his art capture so many different qualities: strength, dignity, passion, nurture, courage, stability and creativity.

klimt-der-kuss-1908

There are reviews everywhere about Gustav Klimt the man and the art. As an artist, and an artist’s wife, I am continually amused by art reviews and critiques provoking an influence on how I’m suppose to respond. For me art is both subjective and objective. My first  intuitive reaction is to respond to it, jaded by my personal thoughts and emotions. I have an initial gut reaction of liking it or not.

klimt-die-hoffnung2-1907

But by practicing a “closer study” I can learn to respond with a more objective point of view. It’s through this objective appreciation that I can find a deeper meaning within a piece. Looking for this deeper meaning is how I/we learn to appreciate what we don’t understand; the same can be said for understanding a woman. Each of our individual stories is what give us the depth and complexity that creates our uniqueness.

So, may I encourage you as we Celebrate Inspirational Women to always look for the deeper meaning through the stories we share.

I am blessed to be a woman and I am grateful for artists like Gustav Klimt to have captured on paper the emotional complexity of what women are made of.

Leave a Reply

